DoctorE

Turtles all the way down

Pastor who tried out atheism for a year gives up on God ‘to have a closer relationship to reality

Posted by doctore0 on December 30, 2014


godgraveyardIn an interview with NPR, former pastor Ryan Bell said his year long journey took him from merely questioning the existence of God to arriving at the conclusion that there is no convincing case for the existence of God.

“I’ve looked at the majority of the arguments that I’ve been able to find for the existence of God and on the question of God’s existence or not, I have to say I don’t find there to be a convincing case in my view,” Bell explained. “I don’t think that God exists. I think that makes the most sense of the evidence that I have and my experience.”

Bell created a stir when he first announced his plans to “live as if there is no God” for 12 months, resulting in him being fired as an adjunct professor at Azusa Pacific University and at Fuller Theological Seminary, where he coached doctoral candidates preparing their dissertation proposals. Both schools are Christian institutions that require their instructors and staff to be committed followers of Jesus, and administrators didn’t feel Bell should be a part of the faculty while living outside his faith.
Read more

Leave a Reply

 
